The runic stone, which is nearly 7 feet high, 16 inches broad and 9 inches thick, is carved on all its four sides. It is of great antiquity for the Danish King Canute forbade the carving of runic stones after 1000 A.D. It is the oldest surviving carved relic in this area and with its inscription is quite unique. The stone could have been part of a cross or greater memorial erected by the Danes, for at various times antiquarians have given opinions on the carving. However, they do not seem to have been able to understand its real meaning, but all agree it must be well over a thousand years old.
The Stone now stands on a plinth at the west end
of the church where it was erected in 1919. Previous to this time it was used
as a lintel over the west door by the Norman Masons who built the church about
1150 A.D. It is doubtful that it would have remained intact to the present day
but being part of the west wall for 800 years ensured its survival.